Register IELTS (General or Academic) in Nigeria and Africa. The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is a test that measures the language proficiency of people who want to study or work in environments where English is used as a language of communication. 

An easy-to-use 9-band scale clearly identifies proficiency level, from non-user (band score 1) through to expert (band score 9).

Types Of IELTS Test

IELTS is available in two test formats – Academic or General Training – and provides a valid and accurate assessment of the four language skills: listening, reading, writing and speaking.

a, IELTS Academic

IELTS Academic is for people planning to study in higher education or seeking professional registration. It assesses whether you are ready to begin studying or training in an environment where English is the language used.

IELTS Academic doesn’t assume that test takers have already mastered (or even partly have) the range of skills they are likely to need at college or university. For this reason, while the test reflects some of the features of academic language, it does not aim to simulate academic study tasks in their entirety. This approach is widely supported by the institutions that recognise IELTS.

b, IELTS General Training

IELTS General Training focuses on basic survival skills in broad social and workplace contexts. It is typically for those who are going to English-speaking countries to do secondary education, work experience or training programs.

People migrating to Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the UK must take the General Training test. It should be noted that professional organizations normally require an Academic test result for registration and migration purposes.

Register IELTS (General or Academic) in Nigeria and Africa.

Test Format

The IELTS test assesses your abilities in all four skills – listening, reading, writing and speaking – in under three hours.

IELTS is available in two test formats: Academic or General Training. There are four parts – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. The total test time is 2 hours and 45 minutes.

All test takers take the same Listening and Speaking tests but different Reading and Writing tests. The distinction between IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training lies in the subject matter of the Reading and Writing components.

Listening, Reading and Writing must be completed on the same day, with no breaks in between them. The order in which these tests are taken may vary.

The Speaking test will either be after a break on the same day as the other three tests, or up to a week before or after the other tests. This will depend on your test center.

Register IELTS (General or Academic) in Nigeria and Africa.

Ensuring quality and fairness

As world leaders in language assessment and test delivery, we place quality and fairness at the center of everything we do.

Fair to test takers

The IELTS approach is recognized as being fair to all test takers, whatever their nationality, cultural background, gender or special needs.

The IELTS test:

  • Provides a valid and accurate assessment of the four language skills: listening, reading, writing and speaking.
  • Assesses language skills, not specialist knowledge — topics covered in IELTS vary from test to test and are general enough so that all test takers will be able to answer questions on them.
  • Focused on assessing practical communication ability
  • Offers a choice of two types, to serve both academic and non-academic purposes
  • Features a one-on-one, face-to-face speaking component
  • Accepts all standard varieties of native-speaker English, including North American, British, Australian and New Zealand English
  • Ensures test questions are extensively trial-led with people from different cultures to confirm they are appropriate and fair.

Systems and safeguards to ensure quality

Consistent and secure delivery of the test is ensured by rigorous
training and continual monitoring of test locations and examiners.

Ensuring reliability of results

The IELTS test is subject to the highest quality controls, security procedures and integrity management practices.

These safeguards include :

  • detailed code of practice for delivering the test to test takers
  • advanced security measures and stringent procedures for checking test taker identity
  • unique test versions – test takers will never sit the same test twice
  • double marking
  • Test Report Forms that are printed on security-enhanced paper
  • online score verification for organizations through the Results Verification Service.

Register IELTS (General or Academic) in Nigeria and Africa.

Ensuring consistent assessment of Writing and Speaking tests

  • Both the Writing and Speaking tests are assessed by trained and certificated examiners.
  • Examiners work to clearly defined criteria, are subject to extensive quality control procedures and are qualified English language specialists with substantial relevant teaching experience.
  • Selected Speaking and Writing performances are second-marked by a team of IELTS Principal Examiners/Assistant Principal Examiners and feedback is provided to each examiner.
  • Where there is a significant difference between a test taker’s Writing and/or Speaking score and their Reading and Listening scores, double-marking is carried out.
  • Routine analysis is conducted on each test version to ensure that the performances of test materials, test takers and examiners are in line with expected standards.
  • Test takers who feel that their score does not reflect their performance may apply to have their tests re-marked. An Enquiry on Result (EOR) is re-marked by a senior examiner.
Register Exam
September 5, 2020
© 2020 All Rights Reserved.